Curriculum & Academic Overview

Curriculum & Academic Overview

We believe the curriculum in place at BACA will prepare students with the breadth and depth required to be successful in the modern world.  As well as focusing on key subject skills and knowledge, it also helps students understand about modern Britain and the challenges within it.

Our broad and challenging curriculum motivates and engages students, preparing them for future success. Please click this link to see our full curriculum map for Years 7-11 for the 2018-2019 academic year.

 

Key Stage 3 (KS3) for Year 7 and Year 8 students

All students follow the KS3 national curriculum where they study the following subjects:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Physical education
  • Sport
  • French or Spanish
  • History
  • Geography
  • Computing
  • Art and design
  • Drama
  • Food technology
  • Personal, social, health & economic education (PHSEE) and religious studies
  • Music
  • Design technology

 

Key Stage 4 (KS4) curriculum:

At BACA we begin GCSE subjects at the start of Year 9.  Students will be supported through the options process during Year 8 to ensure that they make the best possible choices for the next three years.

Beginning in Year 9 until Year 11 KS4 students study:

  • English language
  • English literature
  • Mathematics
  • Science (double science)
  • Core physical education
  • PSHEE

Students then select:

  • History or geography
  • Spanish or French (continuing on with the same language)

Students also select two subjects from the following:

  • Art and design
  • Creative media
  • Business studies
  • Catering
  • Child development
  • Music and performing arts
  • Design technology
  • Drama
  • Triple science
  • Computing

 

GCSE & BTEC:  Subject & Qualification 2018 - 2019

Subject

Qualification name Exam Board

Art & Design

Level 1/2 GCSE (9-1) in Art and Design OCR

Biology (Triple Science)

Level 1/Level 2 GCSE (9-1) in Biology AQA

Business

Level 1/Level 2 First Award in Business Pearson BTEC

Catering

Level 1/Level 2 First Award in Hospitality Pearson BTEC

Chemistry (Triple Science)

Level 1/Level 2 GCSE (9-1) in Chemistry AQA

Child Development

Level 2 Award in Child Development and Care NCFE CACHE

Computing

Level 1/2 GCSE (9-1) in Computer Science OCR

Creative Media

Level 1/Level 2 First Award in Creative Digital Media Production Pearson BTEC

Dance

Level 1-2 Tech Award in Performing Arts Pearson BTEC

Drama

Level 1-2 Tech Award in Performing Arts Pearson BTEC

English

Functional Skills qualification in English at Entry 3 Pearson Edexcel

English

Functional Skills qualification in English at Level 1 Pearson Edexcel

English Language

Level 1/2 GCSE (9-1) in English Language OCR

English Literature

Level 1/2 GCSE (9-1) in English Literature OCR

French

Level 1/Level 2 GCSE (9-1) in French AQA

Geography

Level 1/Level 2 GCSE (9-1) in Geography AQA

History

Level 1/Level 2 GCSE (9-1) in History AQA

Maths

Level 1/Level 2 GCSE (9-1) in Mathematics Pearson Edexcel

Maths

Functional Skills qualification in Maths at Level 1 Pearson Edexcel

Maths

Functional Skills qualification in Maths at Level 2 Pearson Edexcel

Music

Level 2 Certificate in Performance for Music Practitioners RSL

Music

Level 2 Certificate in Technology for Music Practitioners RSL

Physical Education

Level 1/Level 2 GCSE (9-1) in Physical Education AQA

Physics (Triple Science)

Level 1/Level 2 GCSE (9-1) in Physics AQA

Science

Level 1/Level 2 GCSE (9-1) in Combined Science: Trilogy AQA

Spanish 

Level 1/Level 2 GCSE (9-1) in Spanish AQA

Sport

Level 1/Level 2 First Award in Sport Pearson BTEC

 

Class Sizes & Setting

The average class size in Years 7 to 10 is 27 and in Year 11 class sizes are an average of 22.

Class sizes in art, food technology, drama, music and design technology are 22 on average in Years 7 and 8.

Classes are set by ability in mathematics and science in all years.  All other subjects are mixed ability.

 

English Baccalaureate (EBacc)

The EBacc ensures that students have a comprehensive and broad education.  It is comprised of English literature, English language, mathematics, science, history, or geography and French or Spanish. 

During Years 7 and 8, students complete a range of other subjects: art, design technology, food technology, music, drama, physical education, PHSEE, religious studies, and computing.

National Literacy Trust

 

 

 


Contact Us

If you would like further information about each of the courses or any part of the curriculum, please contact the relevant subject leader;

SUBJECT LEADS

Dr N. Sharmin

Lead Teacher of KS4

nsharmin@baca-uk.co.uk

Ms T. Cole Lead Teacher of Geography

tcole@baca-uk.co.uk

Ms F. Farah Lead Teacher of Modern Foreign Languages

ffarah@baca-uk.co.uk 

Miss B. Haydock Lead Teacher of Drama

bhaydock@baca-uk.co.uk

Mrs F. Heerah Lead Teacher of Literacy

fheerah@baca-uk.co.uk

Mr R. Hodgson Lead Teacher of Catering

rhodgson@baca-uk.co.uk 

Mr P. Hunt Head of Science Faculty

phunt@baca-uk.co.uk

Mr M. Lelliott

Lead Teacher of PSHE

mlelliott@baca-uk.co.uk

Mr G. Miles Lead Teacher of Art gmiles@baca-uk.co.uk
Miss J. Mosely Lead Teacher of Music jmosely@baca-uk.co.uk
Ms P. Richardson Lead Teacher of Humanities - SE Cluster prichardson@baca-uk.co.uk
Mr H. Smith Lead Teacher of Physical Education hsmith@baca-uk.co.uk

Ms L. Hadfield

Joint Lead Teacher of History lhadfield@baca-uk.co.uk
Ms J. Smithson Joint Lead Teacher of History jsmithson@baca-uk.co.uk