Brighton Aldridge Community Academy

Academic Overview

Our broad and challenging curriculum motivates and engages students, preparing them for future success.

Key stage 3 (KS3) for Year 7 and Year 8 students

All students follow the KS3 national curriculum where they study the following subjects:

The Key Stage 4 (KS4) Curriculum:

At BACA we begin GCSE subjects at the start of Year 9. Students will be supported through the options process during Year 8 to ensure that they make the best possible choices for the next three years.

Beginning in Year 9 until Year 11 KS4 students study:

Students then select:

Students also select two subjects from the following:

Class sizes and setting

The average class size in Years 7 to 10 is 27 and in Year 11 class sizes are an average of 22.

Class sizes in art, food technology, drama, music and design technology are 22 on average in Years 7 and 8.

Classes are set by ability in mathematics and science in all years. All other subjects are mixed ability.

English Baccalaureate (EBacc)

The EBacc ensures that students have a comprehensive and broad education. It is comprised of English literature, English language, mathematics, science, history, or geography and French or Spanish. During Years 7 and 8, students complete a range of other subjects: art, design technology, food technology, music, drama, physical education, PHSEE, religious studies, and computing.

Download BACA's curriculum plan to find out more about the topics covered in each subject for every year group.

If you would like more information about BACA's curriculum please contact us.

National Literacy Trust